Singapore CrestThe Cabinet
Singapore Government
Contact Info | Sitemap
Cabinet Appointments
Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size Font Size
Mr Tharman SHANMUGARATNAM Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister for Finance

Tharman Shanmugaratnam

Tharman was appointed Deputy Prime Minister in the Singapore Cabinet following the General Elections in May 2011.  He continues to serve as Minister for Finance, a responsibility he has performed since Dec 2007.

He spent much of his earlier professional life at the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), Singapore’s central bank and integrated financial regulator, where he was chief executive before entering politics in 2001.  He has served in economic and education appointments since then, including five years as Minister for Education.  In May 2011, he was also appointed Chairman of MAS. Between May 2011 and July 2012, he served additionally as Minister for Manpower.

Tharman was appointed Chairman of the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC), the policy steering committee of the IMF, in March 2011. He was also admitted to the Group of Thirty, also known as "The Consultative Group on International Economic and Monetary Affairs", in June 2008.

Besides his responsibilities in Government, Tharman is Chairman of the Ong Teng Cheong Labour Leadership Institute; and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Singapore Indian Development Association (SINDA), which seeks to uplift educational performance and aspirations in the Indian Singaporean community.

Tharman serves as Member of Parliament for Jurong GRC.  He was appointed 2nd Assistant Secretary-General of the People’s Action Party on 31 May 2011.

Tharman did his undergraduate and masters education in Economics at the London School of Economics and Cambridge University.  He later obtained a masters in Public Administration at Harvard University, where he received the Lucius N Littauer Fellow award for outstanding performance and leadership potential.  He became the fifth recipient of the Award of Honorary Fellow of the Economic Society of Singapore, in July 2010.

Married to Jane Yumiko Ittogi, a lawyer by background and now actively engaged in community work and the non-profit arts sector.  They have four children.

back to top
Prime Minister
Mr LEE Hsien Loong
Deputy Prime Minister and
Coordinating Minister for National Security and
Minister for Home Affairs
Mr TEO Chee Hean
Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister for Finance
Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr LIM Hng Kiang
Minister, Prime Minister's Office
Mr LIM Swee Say
Minister for Communications and Information
Dr YAACOB Ibrahim
Minister for National Development
Mr KHAW Boon Wan
Minister for Defence
Dr NG Eng Hen
Minister for the Environment and Water Resources
Minister for Foreign Affairs and
Minister for Law
Mr K Shanmugam
Minister for Health
Mr GAN Kim Yong
Minister for Transport
Mr LUI Tuck Yew
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for Home Affairs and
Second Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr S Iswaran
Minister for Education
Mr HENG Swee Keat
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and
Second Minister for Foreign Affairs
Ms Grace FU Hai Yien
Minister for Social and Family Development and
Second Minister for Defence
Mr CHAN Chun Sing
Minister for Manpower
Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and
Second Minister for Communications and Information
Mr Lawrence WONG
Last updated on 10.08.2012
Rate this website
Best Viewed with IE 6.0 and above, 1024 x 768 resolution | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use © 2014 Government of Singapore