Singapore CrestThe Cabinet
Singapore Government
Contact Info | Sitemap
Cabinet Appointments
Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size Font Size
Mr HENG Swee Keat Minister for Education
Mr HENG Swee Keat

Mr Heng Swee Keat was elected a Member of Parliament for Tampines GRC on 7 May 2011.  He was appointed Minister for Education on 21 May 2011.  The Ministry of Education formulates and implements education policies.  It oversees the management and development of schools, including Government and Government-aided primary schools, secondary schools, junior colleges, and a centralised institute.  It also registers private schools.

Prior to this, Mr Heng was the Managing Director of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS).  MAS serves as the central bank of Singapore, as well as an integrated supervisor of the financial services industry, covering banking, insurance and capital markets. 

Mr Heng has also served as the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Trade and Industry, overseeing economic policy, trade negotiations, and the regulation and development of industry.  Before assuming this appointment, Mr Heng was the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Trade Development Board.

Between 1997 and 2000, Mr Heng served in the Prime Minister's Office as the Principal Private Secretary to the then-Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew.  Mr Heng has also served in various positions in the Singapore Civil Service.  In 2001, Mr Heng was awarded the Gold Medal in Public Administration, and the Meritorious Medal in 2010 for his contribution to the public service in Singapore.

Mr Heng graduated with an MA in Economics from the Cambridge University, United Kingdom.  He also holds a Master of Public Administration from the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University.

back to top
Prime Minister
Mr LEE Hsien Loong
Deputy Prime Minister and
Coordinating Minister for National Security and
Minister for Home Affairs
Mr TEO Chee Hean
Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister for Finance
Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr LIM Hng Kiang
Minister, Prime Minister's Office
Mr LIM Swee Say
Minister for Communications and Information
Dr YAACOB Ibrahim
Minister for National Development
Mr KHAW Boon Wan
Minister for Defence
Dr NG Eng Hen
Minister for the Environment and Water Resources
Minister for Foreign Affairs and
Minister for Law
Mr K Shanmugam
Minister for Health
Mr GAN Kim Yong
Minister for Transport
Mr LUI Tuck Yew
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for Home Affairs and
Second Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr S Iswaran
Minister for Education
Mr HENG Swee Keat
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and
Second Minister for Foreign Affairs
Ms Grace FU Hai Yien
Minister for Social and Family Development and
Second Minister for Defence
Mr CHAN Chun Sing
Minister for Manpower
Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and
Second Minister for Communications and Information
Mr Lawrence WONG
Last updated on 12.06.2012
Rate this website
Best Viewed with IE 6.0 and above, 1024 x 768 resolution | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use © 2014 Government of Singapore