Singapore CrestThe Cabinet
Singapore Government
Contact Info | Sitemap
Cabinet Appointments
Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size Font Size
Dr Vivian BALAKRISHNAN Minister for the Environment and Water Resources

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, 53, studied Medicine at the National University of Singapore after being awarded the President’s Scholarship in 1980. He was elected President of the NUS Students’ Union from 1981 to 1983 and Chairman from 1984 to 1985.

After graduation, he specialised in Ophthalmology. He was appointed Associate Professor of the National University of Singapore and Deputy Director of Singapore National Eye Centre (SNEC) in 1997. He led several clinical research trials to control the progression of myopia in children. In 1999, he became the Medical Director of SNEC. He was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Singapore General Hospital in 2000.

Dr Balakrishnan has been a Member of Parliament since 2001. He is currently the Minister for the Environment and Water Resources. He previously held appointments as the Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Second Minister for Trade and Industry, Minister responsible for Entrepreneurship, Second Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts and Minister of State for National Development.

During the early years of his political career, he served as Chairman of the “Remaking Singapore” committee and Chairman of the National Youth Council. He also served two terms as Chairman of the Young PAP.

In Parliament, he has moved several pieces of new legislation. These include the Competition Act, Community Care Endowment Fund Act, Mental Capacity Act, the International Child Abduction Act, the Energy Conservation Act and the Transboundary Haze Pollution Act. He has also moved amendments to the Children Development Co-Savings Act, Children and Young Persons Act, Women’s Charter, Charities Act, Hindu Endowment Board, Postal Services Act, Animals and Birds Act, Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority Act, Sale of Food Act, the Public Utilities Act, the Sewerage and Drainage Act, the Environmental Public Health Act, and the Radiation Protection Act.

At MEWR, Dr Balakrishnan has overseen the policy to build new hawker centres, the establishment of the Centre for Climate Research Singapore and the Department of Public Cleanliness, the implementation of a mandatory licensing scheme for the cleaning industry, and the adoption of higher air quality targets based on World Health Organisation’s Air Quality Guidelines as well as a revised air quality reporting index which incorporates PM2.5.

Whilst at MCYS, Dr Balakrishnan oversaw the establishment of the Comcare Endowment Fund; refinement of the Comcare Social Assistance framework; the Enabling Masterplan for persons with disability; the establishment of the Central Youth Guidance Office; the expansion of Family Service Centres and the Accreditation of Social Workers.He has also led the upgrading of the Childcare sector; establishment of National Family Council, Charities Council, Community Foundation of Singapore, National Steering Committee on Racial & Religious Harmony, the National Integration Council, the Council for Third Age, and the National Council against Problem Gambling. He supervised the successful hosting of the inaugural Youth Olympic Games; and the ongoing redevelopment of the National Stadium.

Whilst at MTI, he oversaw tourism and coordinated the Project team that facilitated the development of the two Integrated Resorts. At MICA, he was deeply involved with the design and rollout of the Next Generation National Broadband Network.

Dr Balakrishnan has been married for 27 years to his wife, Joy. He enjoys spending precious time with his daughter and three sons. To keep fit, he runs and cycles. He is also a computer enthusiast and an avid reader.

back to top
Prime Minister
Mr LEE Hsien Loong
Deputy Prime Minister and
Coordinating Minister for National Security and
Minister for Home Affairs
Mr TEO Chee Hean
Deputy Prime Minister and
Minister for Finance
Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr LIM Hng Kiang
Minister, Prime Minister's Office
Mr LIM Swee Say
Minister for Communications and Information
Dr YAACOB Ibrahim
Minister for National Development
Mr KHAW Boon Wan
Minister for Defence
Dr NG Eng Hen
Minister for the Environment and Water Resources
Minister for Foreign Affairs and
Minister for Law
Mr K Shanmugam
Minister for Health
Mr GAN Kim Yong
Minister for Transport
Mr LUI Tuck Yew
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for Home Affairs and
Second Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr S Iswaran
Minister for Education
Mr HENG Swee Keat
Minister, Prime Minister's Office and
Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources and
Second Minister for Foreign Affairs
Ms Grace FU Hai Yien
Minister for Social and Family Development and
Second Minister for Defence
Mr CHAN Chun Sing
Minister for Manpower
Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and
Second Minister for Communications and Information
Mr Lawrence WONG
Last updated on 01.10.2014
Rate this website
Best Viewed with IE 6.0 and above, 1024 x 768 resolution | Privacy Statement | Terms of Use © 2014 Government of Singapore